Best running sunglasses?

meljean

Mouseketeer
I am new at running and I am looking for advice on the best brand/style of sunglasses to wear while running. Thanks for your advice!

I currently use Oakley Flak 2.0 for running. I really like them, but they were expensive.

If you're looking for something relatively cheap, but still polarized, you can try Shady Rays. I just got a few pair of their X Series, and I like them for everyday sunglasses... but not for running. When I tried them for running, the top frame slightly touches my forehead just above the eyebrows. It's not uncomfortable at all, but sweat seems to accumulate a little where the forehead and top frame touch. I haven't tried their other styles.

Last edited:
And to add to this: do any of you carry your sunglasses out with you at 5 am to pop on later? I was going to carry mine this weekend at Tink to have them when I need them. I figure I can run with them in my hands until I need them (unless y'all have a better idea!).

been more than happy with my 40$ pair from costco (nike tailwinds) daily glasses and have been with me for 6 marathons, and probably 20+halfs

And to add to this: do any of you carry your sunglasses out with you at 5 am to pop on later? I was going to carry mine this weekend at Tink to have them when I need them. I figure I can run with them in my hands until I need them (unless y'all have a better idea!).

Yep, I've done this. I often wear capris with pockets and will make room for my sunglasses for the pre-sun hours.

Rudy Project get my vote as the best ones for running. Lightweight, comfortable, and plenty of sizes & styles to choose from.

I have them sitting on my head until I need them. 8-)

I wear prescription glasses and I have a cheap pair I got as freebees at a run that I use when necessary. When not in use on a run they sit on my head or in on summer long runs in my Camelbak pocket.