Cam's New Lease on Life Journal (comments welcome!)

keenercam

Loves Mickey!
Well, some of you may already know me -- I am 41, with a great DH and DD16 and DS11. I work about 11 hours a day and take home work many nights and weekends. If I could, I'd spend every moment of my life with my husband and kids and working with Special Olympics. Unfortunately, I do have to work for a living (and to support my WDW/DVC habit!)

In February 1995 I was diagnosed with a rare, potentially fatal heart condition which should have been curable, but which 3 surgeries could not resolve. As of 1/2003, I could no longer even go through the motions of working out (treadmill) and often headed to bed by 7:30 or 8:30 at night, totally wiped out.

So, on 1/6/05 my life changed dramatically, and hopefully forever, when a nationally renowned doctor spent nearly 8 hours working on my heart and CURED me! (He had done the 3rd attempted surgery, but had to give up after 7 1/4 hours) I literally feel better than I have in 10 years and have so much energy and motivation. So, I figured now, while the fire is burning hot, I should get myself in gear, get motivated, and get FIT!

I have formed so many bad habits over the past several years -- decaf coffee every morning with cream and often a breakfast sandwich or bagel w/cream cheese (I am a carb freak) and NO exercise. My other really terrible habit was eating late at night -- sometimes as a result of leaving work so late and other times because of meetings, etc. And late at night, I would "graze" in the cabinets, eating snacks like chips, nuts, pretzels, popcorn, etc. UGH!

So, now I have a plan! My plan is to pack breakfast and lunch everyday, and if I am not going to be home before 8, to eat a premade dinner at work before leaving the office. I am also going to get back to drinking a lot of water. Finally, I have committed to walking the 2006 1/2 marathon!! I can't even believe it!