Cash Purchase??

BraveMom3

DIS Veteran
Has anyone made a straight cash purchase of DVC? If so, what is involved? Also, what additional costs would be incurred?(i.e. closing...) I'm one of those people that hates to add to drawn out monthly notes. Not that I have alot of $$$ laying around, but I've been coming up with about $3700 a year for the past 5 years for accomodations(I know, it's crazy!:rolleyes: ), so I could add some to that, and do some creative moving around of Credit Card rates and be finished with it within a year. Please advise!

Hi -

We just bought at VWL in June and paid cash. We paid $75 a point and that's it!! No additional costs, and chose to pay our dues annually to avoid a monthly charge to our checking account. Good luck to you!!

If you purchase direct from Disney you can use a credit card and get the mileage points or other benefits if you have an affilated card and then pay it off right away. One more bonus with your purchase.

We paid cash for our resale a few years ago. Borrowing money for a timeshare was just not my hubby's style.

We wrote a check for our initial purchase and charged an add on to a credit card later... there are no extra fees or anything, and if you can do this with cash I highly recommend it!

Also you may want to look at resales if you have the cash available. We didn't do resale ourselves because we were looking for a low number of points at BWV and they were hard to come by in resale at the time, but we could get them directly from Disney. Now resale is the only way to go for BWV. So I guess it partly depends on where you want to join...and you want to join where you want to stay.

They take your check cheerfully. You pay the cost per point and then get billed for the prorated dues for the current year. They are prorated from the contract date through the end of the year.