Chantelle's Planning Journal-YCG/CG/Morrocco DP-AND WE'RE OFF!!!!!!!!

Chantelle

Mouseketeer
I have really enjoyed reading (and stealing) everyone elses ideas, so I thought I would start my own planning journal to share some of my own.

My fiance and I live in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. I work as a Graphic Designer for a large homebuilder and he works as an accountant. We will have been together 5 years by the time we get married and engaged for 2.

My proposal didn't end up being that exciting, but it wasn't from a lack of effort on his part. He proposed on my birthday (September 5) and had planned for a hot air balloon ride complete with champagne toast. He was going to propose while we were up in the sky. Unfortunatly our weather up here is very unpredictable and the balloon ride was cancelled.

We went out for dinner for my birthday and he was totally bummed out so I just assumed he had a bad day and was tired. Finally, partway into the meal he goes "I have to make a confession" and I was a little worried. He then pulled a piece of paper out of his pocket and showed me the certificate for the balloon ride. "This is what we were supposed to do tonight" he said. I thought nothing more of it, thinking that it was my birthday gift. Then he went to reach into his pocket again and pulled out the ring box. I was quite shocked because he had just moved in with me and switched jobs. We had been ring shopping, but he gave me a big sob story about how he had no money for a ring right now.

The engagement wasn't as planned, but I was still very happy because he remembered the ring I had chosen and managed to keep it a surprise. (I will take a picture of the engagment ring and wedding ring for my next post.)