• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

DAY 1 of 3 - Sun. 5/16/04

PrincessTToo

Mouseketeer
PRESHOW – A half-price/double-miles fare sale on NWA to LAX was all the incentive I needed for a trip to Disneyland. I’ve only been to Disneyland one other time (October 2002) but I’m a WDW veteran.

SHOW – My town car picked me up right on time (11:00 AM) at the Loews Santa Monica Hotel where I had spent a very uninspiring 24 hours. I was definitely ready for some Disney magic. I was told it would take about an hour to get to Disneyland but we were there in about 30 – 40 minutes.

The driver dropped me off at the entrance of the Grand Californian Hotel. A bellman came and gave me a receipt for my bag. Then I went into the lobby. I realized Samantha Brown from Great Hotels was right. It is really a “head up, jaws down” lobby. It is simply stunning. I walked around the lobby for a while before getting in line for check-in. The line was quite long and it took about 20 minutes to get to the front. I chatted with the CM directing the line and he told me that 500 guests were checking out and 500 were checking in today.

The CM at the check-in desk was very nice and very efficient. He made a very strong point about the no smoking policy at the hotel. He made me sign a form saying that I understood there was no smoking anywhere in the hotel. I told him that was one of the reasons I chose the Grand Californian. I am very allergic to smoke.

My room wasn’t going to be ready until 3:00 PM. So I started to wander. I found a very lovely restroom off the lobby. It had the same beautiful tiles that are in the lobby but on a smaller scale. I was hoping they sold them in the hotel gift shop.