Disney in your Classroom

We are heading over to Florida in 2015 and as a Physics teacher I plan on doing lots of Disney themed calculation sheets. It would definitely make Potential and Kinetic energy change during rides more real if it is filmed first person by their teacher!

I introduced a new unit teaching theme to my fourth graders using Disney. We talked about Disney movies and watched Pixar Shorts before moving onto picture books and then chapter books. I also cut out these pictures and cut the theme separately and had the kids match as an independent activity later in the unit.
http://9gag.com/gag/4394507

This blog also has some great ideas oh using Pixar Shorts to teach reading strategies! http://technologyuptospeed.blogspot.com/2013/08/movie-shorts-and-reading-strategies.html

One more- If you can still find them, get pairs of those Mickey head paint samples from Home Depot. Laminate them and put them in a bag to make pairing students easy.

Thank you for the links!! What a cool idea!

So glad this thread has found new life. I have some new Disney in my room this year, I'll get some pictures up soon.

Best wishes to you all with a new school year on the horizon! (My new batch of 3rd graders arrive a week from tomorrow!!):goodvibes

Eureka has a new line of Disney classroom decorations. I went a little crazy at the teacher supply store - I think I bought everything!
One unit I do that I love is "Finding Science in Finding Nemo." The students research the coral reef and the creatures that appear in Finding Nemo. The animal adaptations are amazingly accurate in the movie. They create a presentation to the class on the animal they researched and its adaptations, and then we watch the movie and observe how the animals in the movie show the real life adaptations. They love it!

Thanks for sharing - I just ordered new posters and banners for my room from Eureka.:cool1: