Disney & Multiple Sclerosis

Status
Not open for further replies.

tmaxwell

Mouseketeer
Hello there!

I am planning a trip for myself and my family in the summer of 2016. Yes I am starting to plan now! Save save save!

I'm wondering how the new DAS passes are going to work. With my disability, I don't need a wheelchair in my everyday life and I don't plan on using one when I go (if my health continues to be good). From what I've read, you get a DAS pass for the symptoms of your disability correct? I can't stand outside in long lines since I will get fatigued easily and will get numbness on my right side of my body.

I'm new to all of this lingo so any help is welcomed.

Thank you for your help!

For a DAS you need to be able to explain your needs since a diagnosis doesn't tell a cast member anything about how it specifically impacts you.

If the reason you can't stand in the line is related to mobility or stamina (the way you describe your problem, they could consider it mobility or stamina problems), they will not issue a DAS. They'll suggest renting a wheelchair or ECV. Even if you don't use one in every day life, you could rent a wheelchair, push it around most of the time, and only sit in it when you needed to sit/a change of position. Another option would be to rent a rollator walker with a seat on it from an outside vendor. If you're fine as long as you're moving, you could have your party take a little more space in the queue so that you have space to walk around a little. Many queues move steadily, just at a slow pace. Otherwise, using your FP+ for rides that usually have long waits, going at or close to rope drop, and with a good touring plan/touring app you can avoid most long waits even in high crowd levels.