do i need a doc note saying i have a screw inside my body

newholidayx2

<font color=green>Searching for the perfect tree<b
screw was put into my big toe when they did a bunion/osteootomy
this wont go off in the airports, will it?

Whether or not it makes the sensor at the airport go off probably depends on just what kind of metal it is, how big it is and how the sensitivity is set on the scanners at the airport you are are going thru security at.

It's recommended, but not required, that you have a note that tells about implanted devices and where they are on your body.
This is a link to the Transportation Security Administration page about travel with implantable devices.

thanks Sue
this is my first time travelling since my surgery

I see the doc day before I leave

I have two screws in my wrist from a surgery about 7 yrs ago and have flown at least 10 times since then and have never had a problem with getting through airport security. They metal detector has never gone off and I was worried about that the first couple times. I also have to scars on my wrist which are easy to show as proof , but never needed to do that either.

The sensitivity of the scanners can make a lot of difference. I used to have longer hair and often wore one of those clip type barrettes to hold it up. Most of the barrette was plastic, but there is a thin metal piece that actually forms the clip. Didn't look big to me and I had gone thru airport security with it a lot of times without triggering anything.

Then I had it on when I went thru a similar scanner at the county courthouse. The alarm went off and they asked me to empty my pockets (already empty :confused3 ) and asked if I had a belt on (I didn't). Then a security person behind me said "I see what it is, she's got a huge metal hair thing" (said like I had an anvil on my head.) The had me remove it, placed it on the xray machine and I walked successfully in without the alarm going off.