DSLR Camera Question

captsparrowslady

Proud Member of Loki's Army ;-)
I posted this over on the budget board, but somebody told me there was a photography board and suggested I post here...

So I'm a Theatre Student (I want to be a lighting designer) and I'm thinking about investing in a DSLR camera to take photos of my work for my theatre portfolio. I need a camera that can deal with theatre lighting (low light). The cameras that I own currently don't take the best pictures for portfolio purposes. I need something that will capture my lighting as true to life as possible.

I know Nikons are a good brand, but they can be very very expensive. I'm on a budget (poor broke college student living on grants & student loans) but as I said, I want to invest in a quality camera that I can use throughout my college career and into my professional life as well.

So I need to find a balance between quality and cost. I think in terms of budget I want to try and keep it to about $300.00 or less. I know more expensive does not necessarily translate into better quality (sometimes you're just paying for the name brand, not the quality)... so if I could get some advice from those of you who own DSLR cameras (maybe share some of your photos you've taken with your camera, especially low light photos)

Thanks in Advance! :)

Look for an old used Pentax Kx and a fast "A" Lens, or get a kit lens and a tripod with any old body.