DVC expiring points pool

mittelst

Mouseketeer
I was just seeing if I could squeeze a WDW trip for 2008 out of my tiny 50 point contract (which is at 0, borrowed from for this year's HHI trip), and a thought occurred to me. There have got to be DVC owners that, either through ignorance or happenstance, have points that will expire at the end of their use year. Wouldn't it be great these points could be put in a pool that other DVC owners could buy from? I know, I know, the technicalities make this an unreasonable business proposition. But since there are such tight restrictions on transfers, it's tough when you're, say, 5 points short for your trip (which I am for 2008).

Just venting... comment if you wish!

yep.. that would be cool :cool1: I have 6 unused points..bummer:sad2:

I'm new to DVC...so bear with me if this is a silly question.

HOW does someone have unused points?:confused3 I understand if you cancel an existing ressie and they go into holding or something. BUT - I just banked all my current year points into next year, and I figure I'll borrow from next years if I need to plan an existing UY vaca (and then I'll only borrow exactly what's needed). So if I keep doing it this way... I'll never have unused points that will expire. UNLESS I either forget to bank OR bank and then don't use the banked points the following year...right?

I know unused points CAN happen...but I would think if you bank ALLthen borrow what's needed...then unused points wouldn't be the norm right? Shouldn't that scenario (unused points) be few and far between? Or am I missing something?:confused3

I'm new to DVC...so bear with me if this is a silly question.