ECV from Pop Century to Parks???

Mouskateacher

Earning My Ears
Hello All,

I'm going to WDW in April and will be staying at the Pop Century. We are not renting a car. How easy is it to get the ECVs on the buses that go to and from the resorts?

I do not normally need a wheelchair but due to my physical limitations other DIS posters suggested that I get an EVC. I've never used one before. I have bipolar disorder and my moods can still swing pretty far. If it's going to be too much of a stress to get the ECV to and from the park on the bus... I might be better served trying to rent a wheelchair once I'm actually in the park.

This is my first trip to WDW and I don't want physical pain or emotional episodes to wreck my trip.

Help?

Hi, Mouskateacher!

There are two kinds of buses at WDW. One is the older ones with a lift that the driver lowers, you drive onto and then it raises it up. Then you manuver the ECV into the space that is left when three of the bus seats are raised up. My mom had no real difficult figuring this out after the first couple of tries. Heck, my spouse could reach out and steer it in from the front of the ECV with no real difficulty. Just take as much time as you need and don't worry about it. If you do some practice backing up (maybe go for a ride on the walking path next to the lake at Pop Century) I'm sure you will do just fine.

The newer buses are even easier, as they "kneel" down, flip down a ramp and you drive right up and into the bus. Lots more space to manuver and very, very easy.

The important part is to remember that you are using the ECV so that you can enjoy WDW to the fullest without being in pain or exhausted. Most people will be just fine (we always remember the ones that aren't and I have to remind myself that the majority of people pay no attention at all to me and my wheelchair)(smile) and the rest are very, very nice about helping where they can.