Gastrostomy feeding

JulieElliot

Earning My Ears
We are holidaying from the UK in December. Our son is gastrostomy-fed. Does anybody know if we will be able to obtain Nutrini (or the US equivalent) on a UK prescription?

I would probably suggest you try contacting the company that makes the product. I'm quite sure that an equivilent product would be available in the US. The question would be what would the equivalent be?
Either a dietician or the company could probably help you with that.
Another alternative might be to have the product shipped to the hotel in your name. We have never done that, but I have readd about people doing it like that (I'm not sure if any of them were from the UK, but the company should be able to help you with that too).

I am a pharmacist in Missouri and I know that we would not accept a prescription from outside of the country,

We met friends from the UK at WDW and their daughter has a feeding tube.

They arranged to have her exact nutrition shipped to their destination. Somehow was arranged through whatever over on that side of the pond. It was really nice because her food is already pre-mixed and they didn't have to worry about water or anything.

Since I don't know much about ur health plans over there...I am hoping you might be able to set up something similar.

PS...they carried enough for several days...

I have 24 hour J tube feeds with a G tube drain. When we recently went on vacation to San Diego, we packed enough food for our whole stay. I had 7 days of food, 8 feeding bags, 16 Farrell bags, lots of gauze and Q-tips, and 4 Mic-Key extensions. I packed a whole bunch of other medical supplies, too. :) I would suggest just packing what you need and taking it with you.

Have fun!
Christamae