Gay History 101

Damn, and I thought that gaydar was how y'all knew about each other. LOL, one thing I was told was gay men wore one earring on the right ear, straight men on the left.

In my old days of being an office manager, I displayed a pink triangle magnet on the entrance to my cube. It was to symbolize a "safe place", corporate speak for anyone entering would be treated with respect and dignity, no matter sexual preference or orientation, etc. There were no gays in my office, but there were a few straights that took exception to it. Too bad for them being the narrow minded jerks that they were.

Love all this history, tho. Now I suppose I will be on the lookout for hankies, bandanas, keys, etc.

SeattleRedBear said:
This is the first time I've heard this. Wikipedia and a couple other sources cite 1978 as the first use of the rainbow flag as a gay pride flag (rainbow flags have represented several social movements over time). More info at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rainbow_flag

There also a short article at http://www.cs.cmu.edu/afs/cs/user/scotts/bulgarians/rainbow-flag.html that discusses the origin of the rainbow flag as a gay pride flag.

SeattleRedBear...thanks for clarifying this for me...since I had only heard this once I really did want to know if it was true. I found the articles interesting...especially the one from wikipedia.

Thanks again!

momsgoofy said:
SeattleRedBear...thanks for clarifying this for me...since I had only heard this once I really did want to know if it was true. I found the articles interesting...especially the one from wikipedia.

Thanks again!
You're welcome. I see you're a T.A. Can you put in a good word with the Tag Fairy for me? :teeth:

Here's a tid-bit. The Stonewall riots took place the same time that people and a lot of gays were in New York mourning the death of Judy Garland in 1969.

SeattleRedBear said:
You're welcome. I see you're a T.A. Can you put in a good word with the Tag Fairy for me? :teeth: