? Getting Fitness Back after Injury ?

Z-Knight

DIS Veteran
I need some advice on how to get back my endurance and speed back after being down for a few weeks. Apparently I'm not very good at this running thing because I've been either injured or sick for most of my races this year. Marathon weekend I had 3 injuries, dark side weekend I had the flu and had to have an doctor visit me in my room because I had 105+ fever, and recent marathon I had a cuboid bone stress fracture. I've gone from being able to run 8 min/mile down to 9:40 min/mile after being forced to not run for 8 weeks. I had a 1:49 half marathon over the 2nd tallest bridge in Texas 9 months ago, but now that seems like a distant dream

BTW, elliptical does nothing for your - nothing! I used it for 4 weeks when I was allowed to put pressure on foot and after my first run I was huffing and puffing and felt my quads in pain again.

In the past 4 weeks I've been allowed to do slow, slow runs - which is why my pace is slow, but even if I was allowed to go faster I don't believe I could. I'm currently struggling through my slow runs as is with average heart rates in the 145 or 150 or higher. I've run over 171.5 miles these past 4 weeks but it has been a struggle. Initially I thought I was overtraining but my morning heart rate is 40 bpm and it is not higher than normal so even with 6 days of running per week I am getting my rest.

I'd like to get some advice from people that have been hurt before and ask how long it took you to get back to form. I can't believe at week 5 I am still struggling with slow runs. This past week I ran 8 miles each day and only three of the six runs I could completely finish at the same slow pace - the others I had to partly walk and do intervals.