• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

In need of new running shoes. Any suggestions?

Poohbear538

DIS Veteran
Hi! I am still relatively new to running. I’ve been using a couple of old pairs of shoes and it’s time to invest in a good pair. I know this is all subjective but I am just trying to get a baseline. Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me out 🥰

Hi! I am still relatively new to running. I’ve been using a couple of old pairs of shoes and it’s time to invest in a good pair. I know this is all subjective but I am just trying to get a baseline. Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me out 🥰

Unfortunately, this really isn’t something that can be baselined. Everyone has their favorite running shoes, but no one can tell you what to try. Everyone’s feet are different. I love the Brooks Ghost, but if you’ve got flat feet or high arches (or any other number of factors), they would potentially be a disaster for you. Many people love Hokas, but I can’t wear them because my ankles supinate horribly in them.

Your best bet is to find a local running store where they can measure your feet and look at your gait and give you an idea of what type of shoe will work for you. Most will let you run a bit as part of the fitting process so that you can see what feels best. All the major brands make quality shoes for a wide variety of foot types and running styles. You just have to figure out what your needs are first.