January DLR Weekend Trip Report

OlliePop27

Mouseketeer
This will be my first ever trip report. It will take me a while to get through it all, so this will just be a preliminary post.

I experienced a lot over the long MLK Weekend, and I have a lot of feedback about recurring questions people have - Multiple Experience Passes, LL Acceleration, ILL, Genie+, rain, GC Hotel, character dining, ride refurbs, nighttime entertainment, crowds, Magicband+, ride breakdowns, going during a slower time of year and more. I've been to DLR over 20 times in my life, spanning the early 90's to today. I was an expert FP user, and this was my first time using Genie+.

The trip included my wife, my 3.5 year old and myself. My wife was pregnant at the time, and therefore unable to ride many things on this trip. My son was 41 inches tall, and therefore able to ride a lot of things on this trip. We flew from about 2.5 hours away via our major home airport with ample daily nonstop flights to all LA area airports. We were fortunate to fly into and out of SNA at a very reasonable price. This is always my preferred airport, especially with a young one. This time proved again how great SNA is. It also proved how fortunate we are to be able to easily fly nonstop and not have to worry about layovers or connecting flights.

This was also our first time ever going in January, and only our second time ever going outside of the summer (May-September) timeframe, making rain a real possibility when we booked. It ended up raining at some point on all 3 of our main park days - more about this later. It was also odd to go during a "slower" time of year, and there are definitely tradeoffs I'll discuss later too. I have fond memories of going during the summer, and after two consecutive winter trips, I see pros and cons to both, but summer is still my preferred time of year for many reasons.

Our first day was Friday, 1/13, starting with a flight to SNA. I'll plan to pick things up here in my next post.