Moving to Melbourne, Florida

Haley R

DIS Veteran
I'm sorry, I know I had a post about moving to Orlando, but we got a little over our heads with that one. They flew Dh down for an interview within a week so we thought it was a for sure thing, but they went with someone who already had security clearance. Dh did just get an offer today though for a job in Melbourne!!!

We started looking at areas and it looks like Viera and Rockledge are nice areas. I'm looking for any advice/tips for that area. We looked at schools and both Viera and Rockledge have very nice schools (I'm a teacher). We'll take any tips. Thanks!!!

Sorry, I don't know anything about living in the Melbourne area, but I'd take that over living in the Orlando every time. Then again, we're beach people. Congrats to your DH on the offer. I think you'll like the area.

Sorry, I don't know anything about living in the Melbourne area, but I'd take that over living in the Orlando every time. Then again, we're beach people. Congrats to your DH on the offer. I think you'll like the area.
Thank you! He's very excited and I hope everything works out for us to move. We had beautiful weather here today, but are expecting snow on Friday and I just can't take it anymore lol. Plus, it's a job Dh would actually enjoy.

Thank you! He's very excited and I hope everything works out for us to move. We had beautiful weather here today, but are expecting snow on Friday and I just can't take it anymore lol. Plus, it's a job Dh would actually enjoy.

Good luck to both of you. We moved to Florida 22 years ago & have never regretted it.

If you don't mind me asking, what part of Florida do you live in?

We lived in the Tampa area for 17 years. We chose Tampa in a crazy, random way, but I loved living there. DH was transferred 5 years ago. We now live between Ft. Lauderdale & Miami.

Last edited: