My Jiminy & The DDP... Am I Nuts??

melomouse

DIS Veteran
Ok - I don't want to start a debate that's likely done a few hundred threads by now. I keep reading. I just don't get all the hoopla about what I suspect is "over" maximizing the plan. I keep reading and try to get information and decide what's best for OUR trip.

I want to try places I've never tried before, partly because DS will not be with us this trip and partly because FDP affords us the opportunity to try more pricey restaurants I normally would think twice about if I were paying cash outright every meal.

I will also add that I tend to overeat, especially on vacation. I love ice cream snacks and probably, if I have timed it right and it's not too hot, CAN do a CS and a TS, appetizer and dessert included!

DD will be an adult at 10 by the time our trip rolls around late September.We are lucky enough to have free dining. I am happy with our price for PH and a 6 night stay at POR. Were I paying for DDP - each adult day would be about $40/day. We are definitely going to eat more than $80 worth of food each day.Our credits will definitely work out using a combo of 2 credit meals and 1 credit meals.

Am I missing something about human nature than I'd rather not know?? Why look for "loopholes" when the plan is ALREADY more than generous?? Why do folks look for permission from a CM, the fine print, the "snack code logos" to try and figure out how to get something "worth" a few cents or a few dollars more??

I feel like I am naive sometimes, or a poor planner, or not taking proper "advantage" as I prepare for this trip. Are we over-emphasizing the food aspect here or what? I'm the eater and I don't get it.

Because many of us know that we can pay highly discounted rates for our rooms, and that by charging us rack room rates, they're probably making up for anything "lost" by the free dining.