Need advice on how many points to buy

Noreaster15

Earning My Ears
I'm new to the market for DVC and slightly overwhelmed with the amount of info out there, but I think I'm finally getting the understanding of DVC. My question pertains to how many points I should purchase.

My DS + DD only plan on going to Disney every other year. If a 7 night stay, for example, at GF costs 169 pts then would I only need an 85 point contact since I'd be able to bank or borrow every other year? I can't think of any basic reason to buy more based on our Disney vacation schedules.

Thanks!

I'm new to the market for DVC and slightly overwhelmed with the amount of info out there, but I think I'm finally getting the understanding of DVC. My question pertains to how many points I should purchase.

My DS + DD only plan on going to Disney every other year. If a 7 night stay, for example, at GF costs 169 pts then would I only need an 85 point contact since I'd be able to bank or borrow every other year? I can't think of any basic reason to buy more based on our Disney vacation schedules.

Thanks!
You're correct in terms of how the points work. You could buy an 85 point contract and use 170 points every other year. The only slight caveat is that VGF studios tend to book very quickly during popular DVC times (which may be different than popular times for the general public), even at 11 months, with standard going faster than lake view. Some people will buy slightly more points than they need to give them some flexibility to book a more expensive room if needed. For example, getting a 100 point contract gives you access to a lake view studio in the same season, which opens up your options a bit. 1 beds tend to go last, but obviously a big jump in points.

Last edited:
I think that most people tend to be short points. Getting rid of any extra is a good excuse for adding a couple of days to your vacation! :-)

:earsboy: Bill

Thanks!