Newbie traveling with teens, advice please

xavier2001

DIS Veteran
This is my first time on this side of the board. I am a Disney fanatic but haven’t been to the parks in 30 years!! We are definitely cruisers but with all that having been cancelled for do long, we thought we’d try the parks. Trip planned for early June. We Traveling with me are my Mom (a young 65), and 2 13 year olds who have never been to the park. We have a tight timeline for the Disney portion of a longer Florida trip. Currently plan is drive about 2 hours to get to Disney, do 1 day at Magic Kingdom, spent the night at Carribbean Beach Resort, spend the next day at Hollywood Studios, then drive home.

Any tips or tricks to maximize our park time and keep the teens engaged would be greatly appreciated. Star Wars is pretty high on the list and the main reason we are going to DHS.

Tips and tricks: Rope drop will be huge to get as much out of the parks as you can. If the park is "opening" at 8, you should be in line by 7 - currently they are staggering the opening times to get people out of the "herd" opening. This should let you into the park and on a ride or two before the actual opening. For MK we usually head to the mountains in Frontier land, then adventure land, then tomorrow land and finally fantasy land.

Given your time frame, I would have the everyone in the party pick one or two "must dos" use the app and youtube to determine what that might be.
Dining is still limited so you will need to do mobile ordering and if possible an off time or plan ahead.
The lines will look very long because of the social distancing markers, but they will go relatively fast.