Paperpiecings and faces!!

6_Time_Momma

<font color=blue>Still crazy after all these years
Aghhh. I am so frustrated! I am in a Disney paperpiecing swap. I am new to all this and I thought this would be agood way to jump in. I have pieced together a Snow White, and I am absolutley thrilled with her.........except her face!!!!! How do you guys do faces???? I tried to draw it, but it just is not looking great. I tried to piece it using really small pieces, but that didn't look great either. I am just about ready to leave the face blank, and let the swapees either fill it in themselves or use a daughter's face close-up in the blank!! LOL!!!!! Seriously, is there a good way to make the faces look decent?:(

Hi! If I can't get the faces drawn in just right, sometimes I trace them using a lightbox, but you can get the same effect by holding it up to a window.

HTH!
Candi

I ruined a great paper doll that I made, trying to get the face right - in the end I didn't use it, but since then I have seen these stamps and I am considering investing in them

http://www.scraptastic.co.uk/shopping/rightframes/rubberstamps.html

expressions.gif

this link is to a UK scrapping store - but I'd bet that she's importing them from the US so they should be available over there too.

Bev

I don't know if I can explain this, but I will try. I have a terrible time with faces and hands, so I have worked out a routine that works well for me.

I cut out the pattern of the face. Then I make slits to the edge of the mouth, nose, eyes, etc. and cut along the lines. Next, I lay the pattern piece on the real paper matching the edges. In other words in your example, I would have matched Snow White's face pattern on her finished face. Carefully lift a flap and gently trace the lines along the edges of the cuts. Then go back and go over them again with a marker. It usually works quite well and my results have been very realistic.