Printing photos from your pc

Tiggeroo

Grammar Nazi
If you print them on photo paper, will they last as long as photos you get from a studio? What if you use photo quality printer ink? Does anyone on here know this? Are these photos ok to put in a scrap book?
Thanks guys.

Well, I'm not an expert, but what I've been told is that photos developed professionally as opposed to printed on a home printer will last longer. The quality of printer inks is getting better, but they still tend to fade after a number of years especially when exposed to light.

Yes, they are safe to put in scrapbooks. I would still use page protectors though.

There was an article in a computer magazine recently about this. There is only one printer on the market currently that can print photos with the longevity of those done by a developer. Its an Epson and retails for around $900. The estimated life of these photos is something like 75 years.

All other printers when tested produced results that can last for anywhere from 3 to 26 years before losing quality. So the answer to that question is, for the most part, no...they won't last as long. I don't really know what you mean about photo quality printer ink. Some printers print in what they call "photo quality" but this does not have a bearing on longevity, just how the photo looks when printed. And most printers will only accept printer ink cartridges designed for that particular printer brand and model.