RSD or CRPS

emtmom0104

DIS Veteran
Ok, not sure how much of a long shot this one is. I was diagnosed after 5 LONG years of agony with RSD, or Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy(Formerly called CRPS or complex regional pain syndrome). I have recently had a spinal cord stimulator placed, 4 weeks ago, and we are taking my son back to Disney for his birthday at the end of June. My dr said I should be able to return to most of my normal activities by then. I do still get flare ups of pain and swelling making it difficult to stay still and sometimes walk. What are some things I can do in Disney to help me cope with this? Does anyone have any personal experiences they can share with me?

Oh Boy! Do I know what you are going through. I have been battling RSD for 2 years myself. Nasty disease!

The only way I can do any long distances is with a scooter. Shortly after being diagnosed with it, my dr gave me a script for a scooter. He knew I would need it for school and other activities. With the script the insurance covered it. I take this to Disney with me along with my cane. Between the 2, that is the only way that I can handle Disney. I suggest you look into using one for your trip. I found that it didn't zap my strength like walking does and I am not in as much pain, so I can enjoy the parks better. Maybe you could get your own scooter and take it with you.

My 17-yr-old daughter was recently diagnosed with RSD/CRPS. We are planning to rent a wheelchair and try to replace her axillary crutch with a HurryCane. She has also developed skin sensitivity to light touch over her hip (affected area) and was wondering if anyone had any other tips. Did anyone bring a pillow or something to cushion the rides? She loves rollercoasters but I'm thinking we may have to give them up for at least this trip.