Running half marathon alone

firstwdw

DIS Veteran
Newbie here so forgive this if it is a silly question. Do most folks run with a group, friends, family meaning it would be awkward to do the Dark Side half marathon alone? (family would be along for the vacation/parks etc but not running the race).

I've run almost every race I've ever run by myself. I don't think that it's awkward at all. I get to move at my own pace and I've always viewed a race as an individual experience (I know this can be different at Disney). A lot of people run in groups, but I'd say the majority are like me and run solo.

Newbie here so forgive this if it is a silly question. Do most folks run with a group, friends, family meaning it would be awkward to do the Dark Side half marathon alone? (family would be along for the vacation/parks etc but not running the race).

It isn't awkward at all. I did the Dark Side Half alone the last two years (and I didn't even bring my family with me). I did run the Dark Side 10k this year with a friend, but I was just taking that race easy to save my effort for the half. BTW, even most of my local races, I do alone.

Good responses already. I'll just add that I do all my races, local and Disney, alone. I like the freedom to set my own pace and not feel obligated to either slow down when someone else struggles or have to push harder than I am comfortable with if I'm not having a good race. The only time I wish that I had someone there is during the pre-race wait for corrals due to the early nature of the races. Even then, this board generally has folks meeting up pre-race, so there's an opportunity for socialization to make the time go a bit quicker. Run on your own and enjoy!