Running half marathon alone

thanks everyone for your thoughts .......a disney race is on the radar just not sure exactly when! Appreciate the feedback.

I run every race alone. Even the races I travel to with friends and run "with friends" is alone. I'll see them before and after but we run our own pace and don't run together. I do have some friends that I run around the same pace as and on occasion we have run together over a 5K but we were racing against each other, not really running together.

You have no reason to feel awkward OP. I've traveled solo to most of my Disney races. The nice thing about the Disney running community is we are a social bunch. Every race weekend I've been to has had meetups either with people from this board (WISH meets) or from groups put together by Mike Scopa, Len Testa, or Lou Mongello.

Newbie here so forgive this if it is a silly question. Do most folks run with a group, friends, family meaning it would be awkward to do the Dark Side half marathon alone? (family would be along for the vacation/parks etc but not running the race).
I have run every single race I've ever done alone. While my little sister has run in two of the six half marathons I've completed, we each run our own pace and don't feel any pressure to adjust our pace to the other. We have different race goals. If you do run with someone, I strongly recommend having an honest conversation before the race where you outline expectations and race goals. That way you both know what to expect. It's not fair to ruin someone's time goal because you're slower nor is it fair to force someone to skip some or all of the fun opportunities at a runDisney event because they're trying to keep pace with a friend who doesn't want that.