SSR - 2054???

J

JohnW

The US DVC board has rumours of a 2054 end date for SSR. Any thoughts anyone?

If true, that would tempt me more. I have been toying with DVC for a couple of years, if not more, but haven't gone ahead primarily because our kids are one of each and sleeping arrangements are a potential issue, even in a one bedroom. We have taked the villa option on the last two vacations and thus avoided the problem.

With an extended life, that would give more years after the children are grown up, thus more appealing.

Well, I must say that SSR as a resort does appeal to me, especially if the points requirements are lower that BWV, VWL or BCV (as has been rumoured), and I hope we'll be able to stay there some time with our VWL points.

BUT, I'm not tempted by the extended expiry date as it stands - I think our own vacationing days may be long gone before then, and DDs can buy a different 'time share' option to replace DVC after 2042 if that's what they want!

I think the desirability (or not) of an extended date is all going to come down to the age of DVC members and whether they are likely to benefit from those years between 2042 and 2054.

From a financial point view it could make SSR a better deal. It's a 6% increase in price for a 20% increase in use. Although you're paying the extra up front for use in 40 years time. I'd have to run the numbers through to be sure which made more sense if I was looking to add on, but I'm not :) . I would still tend to stick to the resort that I prefered. With the exception of BCV ( and they will be available in a short time IMHO) the availability of a lower price for a resale (over 39 years) compared to Disney's price over 50 is likely to mean the financial "benefit" is likely to be minimal.