STRESSED: AoA, AKL or POR???

Which one is best? (I have 6 adults, 3 kids age 4-5, and an 8mo going in June 2019)

• Art of Animation

Votes: 5 16.7%
  • Animal Kingdom Lodge

Votes: 22 73.3%
  • Port Orleans Riverside

Votes: 3 10.0%

• Total voters

kat_fisch

Earning My Ears
Soooo I'm a beginner here with all this Disney vacation craziness and I'm feeling completely overwhelmed. I am planning to trip for my extended family-6 adults, 4 kids, and a baby. We are 3 families and need to book 3 rooms/suites. I don't know where to stay-none of us have stayed on Disney property before!
I need help/insider scoop on where to stay! We have been looking at Art of Animation (we would be booking 3 suites and I know we need to all book the same theme so we are together), Animal Kingdom Lodge, or Port Orleans-Riverside. We know that Art of Animation would be great for the kids-it's a value resort but would actually end up being most expensive since we have to book suites (my SIL has 3 boys, all age 5). My friend says POR is a great resort but my MIL heard the rooms are weird-are the pirate rooms or something? And I'm concerned about AKL because of the description of the food-is that good for little kids having ethnic food? Sorry if that sounds insensitive. Also, is AKL's theme as "cool" for 4 and 5 yo's as AoA?

We are going to buy the dining plan and spend 3 days in parks (2 at MK and 1 at HS). How important is location? Distance/travel/transportation to those places from these resorts?!

See? I NEED HELP!!

Thanks so much!
Katherine

AKL is amazing. That would definitely be my choice. They have plenty of "standard" kids food options. What could be cooler than looking out your balcony at African animals? The pool is amazing, you would also have access to the pool at Kidani which has a really great kid's splash area. There are a ton of activities for kids also.