Stupid Move

Talking Hands

<font color=purple><b>|,,|/</b> DEAF DISNEY LOVER<
I did a really stupid thing today. Accidently took my insulin twice. Crashed real good at Walmart. Any ideas on how to avoid doing this again? I'm open to just about any idea that will stop a repeat.

I'm a nurse-I tell my pts to turn the bottle upside down after giving the dose-you could also keep a notebook with time of day, dose and any adverse reactions to help you get in the habit. Some pts say they set out the next syringe and alcohol making a little note of time for next dose. Hope that helps

I'm on twice a day. I will have my first dose in the morning and will then check my e-mail and certain boards and then have breakfast. Since I won't start checking things until I've had my shot I can't double dose in the morning.

Likewise for the evening, I will have my shots before starting to prepare dinner; once I've started fixing dinner I know I've had my shot.

If I will be eating out, I will carry a charged syringe wrapped in an alcohol swab in a toothbrush holder. I will stop in a rest room before dinner to use it.

My daughter's friend has a couple of the "Live Strong" type bracelets, but anything like that would work. She puts them both on her left arm first thing in the morning & switches one to her right arm after she has her insulin, then switches the other one later in the day when she has another dose. Also helps her family know - she's just 13 & this works very well for her.

TalkingHands...my dad takes his insulin 4 times a day and was having the same problem...either double dose or forget, so he just started putting a tally mark on the calendar he keeps on the fridge so he's see it when he's getting the insulin out. So far it seems to be helping. I use the bottle flip for my allergy meds...I take it 2Xday and would forget if I'd taken it or not, so I put it lid down if it's ready for my night dose...like my head's down on the pillow. So far it's helped me.