Suggestions wanted: First time cruiser with a 3-1/2 year old

mickeysaver

<font color=blue>WINNER of the world's worst limer
I am a WDW pro, but I have never been on a cruise. I am thinking that somewhere in the Caribbean or Bahamas would be good. I will need a passport before we go. I am guessing that the baby can get by with a birth certificate. We tend to enjoy longer trips when it's to the parks because it gives us time to really relax. I am not sure that the same would be true on a ship though, due to close quarters and such.

So, where would you suggest going and for how long? We are hoping to save up for a trip next summer or fall.

It makes no sense to get a passport for yourself but not for the child. You will either want them for everyone or for no one unless there is a citizenship issue involved (foreign adoption or something of that nature).

A passport is recommended by many, but is not required for the cruise--provided it is a closed loop cruise departing from the US and none of the countries visited requires one. This is the case for the Bahamas and Caribbean cruises leaving from Port Canaveral.

I'd suggest a 4 night cruise. 3 is just too rushed--too much to do and too little time. The 4 or 5 gives you some time to relax! We like the parks, but we LOVE the cruise.

We took our DD on her first cruise at 3 1/2 - we chose a 5-night DD on the Wonder with 2 stops to Castaway Cay, which was perfect, but is not available in 2013. So far, she has been on 4 cruises and will be 5 years old next month - she's as addicted as we are!

That being said, I would personally choose a 7-night Caribbean cruise because longer is always better :thumbsup2 You will have plenty of time to relax - that is the best part about the cruises - you can do as much or as little as you'd like.