Suggestions - wheelchair?

tinkyb2

Earning My Ears
Hello everyone,
I'm new to this page. I'm going to DW in June with my mother-in-law who has MS. She will be in a wheelchair the entire time. I've been reading a lot of the fabulous posts in this forum (thank you!) but am confused by some of the lingo. What is a GAC and is it necessary for wheelchair users? Do you have any tips for our family - with regard to rides, travel (which modes of Disney transportation should we take - we will not have a car), and other helpful suggestions regarding wheelchair accessibility/usage in the parks. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!
Jaime
:rockband:

Welcome,
you do not need a GAC, which is a guest assistence card, with a wheelchair.
You well be able to use any WDW transportation, with a possable exception of some of the boats depending on water level, but if she can walk alittle bit then it won't be a problem at all.
One tip for the rides is to stop at guest services and get the handbook for disabliities. That way you will know which rides you can stay in the wc and which ones you have to get out. It will also tell you if there is a different way to get on the ride. Most of the rides use the regular lines but some don't.
Also all of the shows have wc sites just ask the CM at the front of the show and they will show you where to go.
If you ever need anything just ask a CM they are great to the disabled and more then willing to help.

Welcome to disABILITIES :wave:
If you haven't already checked it out, look at the disABILITIES FAQs thread.
The 4th post in that thread has instructions for traveling by WDW bus.
The 3rd post has a link to the Disney website that has a copy of the guidebooks for Guests with Disabilities that pugdog mentioned. The Disney webpage also has a list of rides that are "Mainstream", where the guest can use the regular line and remain in their wheelchair/ecv for the wait in line