• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Tips

I worked as a hotel housekeeper once. So, even for my small family, I still leave $5.

Not a fun job. :(

We tip $1-$2 daily per person. We leave the tip daily rather then one big tip at the end because you may get different housekeepers during your stay, and the person on your last day may be someone new just coming on shift getting entire tip, while person who did all the cleaning got nothing.

I leave $1 per person each day, in a clearly marked Mousekeeping envelope. My daughter and I make them up ahead of time and decorate them

Does this vary by resort? There are just two of us staying at the GF this fall and I was thinking $5 per day, is this fair at a deluxe resort?

Does this vary by resort? There are just two of us staying at the GF this fall and I was thinking $5 per day, is this fair at a deluxe resort?

Tipping is a personal choice of whether to do it or not and of how much. I know that I tip the same no matter what level of resort I'm staying. Any tip will be appreciated.

I don't think the majority of people even think to tip housekeeping. I wouldn't have thought about it if it wasn't for this forum 6 years ago!

We tip $5 for our family of 4. I make sure the tip is on their housekeeping "welcome card" and plainly visible, but we had it left a few times.

We happen to catch the mousekeeper each day and gave it directly to her. We also let her know at that time if we needed any more supplies. Even though we didn't have her come in and clean (we had the dnd sign on the door), she would leave towels and stuff in a bag hanging on the door.

We gave $5 per day and were there 6 nights. We appreciated her hard work and were glad to be able to thank her personally.

Julie