Torn between refurbished room and saving money

Would you rather save money by staying in an older value room or spend more on a refurbished room?

• Refurbished room all the way

Votes: 29 78.4%
  • The old rooms are perfectly adequate

Votes: 8 21.6%

• Total voters

jamesg

Earning My Ears
I've scoured the forums and read all the reviews of the different value resorts so I think I have a pretty good idea on the pros/cons of each. I've seen the refurbished rooms at POP and AS:Movies and until today I was excited to spend a bit extra to get a guaranteed newer room at POP for my upcoming trip.

However, after checking out the recently released special offers I see that a standard room at POP costs $250 more than a standard room at AS:Sports for my 9-day trip in January. Now I'm not so sure the premium price is worth it. I've never stayed at a value resort before so I have no personal experience to reference.

Can those who have stayed in a refurbished room (at either POP or AS:Movies) tell me how much better the experience is compared to the older rooms? I know this is a subjective question, but I think I've read through all the hard facts of each resort already so I could really use the opinions of people who have stayed in both types of room.

There are some features of the newer rooms that I've been looking forward to such as cleaner floors, better mattresses, more modern shower facilities, USB ports, and a bigger TV. I'll be traveling solo so bed size isn't really a factor, however I do tend to eat in my room for most meals which means I spend a bit more time in the room than some people. I guess I'm looking to get the most bang for my buck with my resort choice.

I've stayed in all the values.
POP is by far my favorite.
Stayed at POP a few weeks ago and staying again in December.