Training Schedule

nezy

DIS Veteran
I am considering doing the dark side half marathon on april however in looking at the suggested training schedule it looks like I am way behind if I start now. It is already 9 weeks in. I am a beginner runner so I am wondering:
1. If it is too late to start training and if I can even get myself up to the half marathon pacing rate
2.If I can start now, how do I adjust the training program schedule posted by jeff galloway on runDisney?

In reading the posts of so many runners here I admit it is intimidating.
I am more a fast walker than a runner...am I biting off too much?

Thanks.
Noreen

Hmmm... first, I'd say to take a look at this thread that has other options for training programs: http://www.disboards.com/threads/training-plans-and-terminology-a-newbies-guide-to-running.3545529/

My first half I used something more like a blend between these two programs:
1) 12-week program: http://www.halhigdon.com/training/51131/Half-Marathon-Novice-1-Training-Program
2) 10-week program: http://www.marathonrookie.com/half-marathon-training.html

IF you felt comfortable following one of these, you'd be 2 weeks behind or just about right on time.

Now, when I followed a blend of these I was able to comfortably run a 5K... running 3mi stretches on a semi-regular basis.

So much depends on general health, how much you are running now, etc. AND I AM NO DOCTOR!!! Just wanted to mention that there ARE other paths to a first half than these very long training programs.