What Kind of Shoes?

sleepingbeauty17

Earning My Ears
Calling all shoe experts! I'm new to the RunDisney community, I'm looking to train for a Disney race and get more into running as a whole. I'm a pretty active person, I try to get to the gym four times a week, but I'm only going on the elliptical and lifting a few weights. Currently I wear Nike free runs and don't have any issues with them but I'm hoping to start running outside and on the treadmill more once it gets cold (I live in Boston). Would I be better off switching to a more structured shoe like Asics, or some other brand? If it helps I usually wear my shoes down on the outside near the front first. Looking forward to joining the RunDisney community!

You need to go to a running store to be fitted for a shoe properly. Different shoes work for different people.

I suppose part of my question is if it is even worth it to spend the money on a good pair of running shoes if my current Nikes aren't giving me any trouble

you say you use elliptical only - well then you are fine, but once you start running those shoes may not be good for you at all. You may get injured in the wrong shoes - save yourself the trouble and just get fitted for a real pair for running.

I used to run in a pair of Nike's and then got fitted for sneakers that were made for my running style and it made a world of difference. I just felt better after runs, especially once they started getting longer. Depending where you are in Mass, Marathon Sports is a good place to go and do a run analysis.