• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

What qualifies for DAS now in adults??

Status
Not open for further replies.

ladeb59

Earning My Ears
I have reading all the discussion on the DAS system and it seems like many adults have been turned down for it. Stamina, endurance and mobility aren't a reason for one from what I have read. So what qualifies??? I am a registered nurse and am asking this question out of concern for the many people that have visited WDW with disabilities. WDW has always been a friendly place to go if you have some type of disabilty but now it seems that WDW is making it more difficult for those with disabilities to enjoy it. Just my thought. Any feedback would be welcomed.

There is no condition or diagnosis that "qualifies". You have to explain why you disability prevents you from standing in line. If you condition is stamina or mobility related the default answer is rent a wheelchair or ecv. So you would have to explain why that wouldn't work for you.

A good example of someone who would probably be able to get a DAS is someone with vision problems. Like needs to sit close to the front to see. Something along those lines.

Basically if your issues can be resolved by using a wheelchair or ECV, then you don't qualify for the DAS, which is fine because the CM's can already see that there is a problem when you are using one of these. If you have other issues than you will probably qualify if a reasonable accommodation can be made.

I don't really see this as being an issue, since before if you had a wheelchair or ECV, you didn't need a GAC if that covered your issues, but they would give you one anyways. Now they are just limiting the DAS to those who need accommodations for other reasons.