What tips/tricks would you give to first time visitor?

disney-inspired

Disney on the brain 24/7/365!
Hello!

I'm going to Universal Studios/ IOA in September with my sister. I consider it my first trip because I only went for a partial day in May last year.
This will be my sister's real first trip though.

Here are our stats for the trip
- Staying 4 days at Aventura
- Ride weenies - we don't really like roller coasters, just not our thing. For reference, we do Big Thunder and Space at WDW/DL and I've done Everest (never again) but no RNRC. We're fine with simulators and dark rides just speed and real drops bother us.
- Not planning on buying express pass. Do you think we'll need it for that time of year?
- Trying to do this on the cheap so planning for quick service meals but if something is really great, wouldn't be opposed to spending the $$

What advice or recommendations would you give a total newbie?

Thank you!

Last edited:
How many days? What types of rides do you like? Thrill or no thrill? Do you like eating at nicer places or just counter service? Will you be staying at a hotel where you get express pass or buying one separate?

How many days?
4 days

What types of rides do you like? Thrill or no thrill?
We are definitely not real roller coaster fans. I've done Flight of the Hippogriff and I'm planning on us doing Escape from Gringotts but definitely no Velocicoaster.

Do you like eating at nicer places or just counter service?

Since we're doing this on the cheap, we're looking at mostly counter service. I did make a reservation for Cowfish.

Will you be staying at a hotel where you get express pass or buying one separate?

We're staying at Aventura and I didn't have plans on buying the express pass. I was looking at historical wait times for early September and it looks pretty quiet, of course pandemic may have changed this but I was referring to TP's wait times from Sept 2021.