• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

What to expect at my first 5K?

Jkpark

DIS Veteran
We are doing the Star Wars 5K in January and I'm wondering what to expect. How many people run it? How crowded does it feel? Do people run/walk? How many characters are out for photos and how long does that take? Wondering what pace to set for myself so I have time to enjoy the race and meet characters along the way. How strict are they sweeping? I assume strict so they can clear the parks for opening? Do I bring my own water or is there water along the way? Yes - total newbie here. What happens if you are swept? Where do they take you? What do you miss out on? It's only 5K and starts early but how big of a breakfast do you eat so you have energy but aren't running on a full stomach. Any other advice you can share I'm just not thinking of?

Thanks!!

Lots of people will run/walk or even just walk.
Your training should include figuring out what and how to eat so you are ok and not overly full.

If people are just walking, is it still easy to meet characters and not get swept?

I am the wrong person to ask that one. I'm too slow as it is (compared to what I want), and not interested in characters, so I don't stop for them.

I am signed up for that race too. If its anything like the 5k in Disney World this January than you can walk pretty slow.

Last year I walked it with my father...SSSLLLLOOOOWWWW... I mean, like a tourist strolling along slow. There were still many many others behind us going even slower.

Photo ops were aplenty. Lines for photo ops were LONG.

I hear there are 'balloon ladies' in the 5k ... if these balloon ladies (literally ladies carrying helium balloons) pass you then you get swept. So always keep the balloons behind you.