Where do you go on your very first grown-up vacation? Disney World, of course!

AllisonK

DIS Veteran
What better place to go in the middle of a cold Massachusetts winter then to Orlando? (I know, I know, it can be cold - but we've been to Florida in January plenty of times to know that "cold" by Florida standards is usually pretty warm to us, so we deal with it.)

Let me introduce myself. I'm Allison, most people call me Alli, I'm 22 and graduated from college in May with a degree in print journalism. I started my job on June 2 at a newspaper about 20 minutes from my hometown. I'm a copy editor and we lay out and design the paper as well as edit.

With the real job comes real vacation time. Since I started in June, my days just kicked in this week, and my editor-in-chief was nice enough to sign the form for my other two co-workers and I (who all started this year fresh out of college) to carry over our days to use until the end of March. Once I knew I had the approval, I put in for my vacation ASAP and it was approved this week.

After college I moved back home and am living with my parents. We kicked around the idea of taking a vacation together, but it's pretty hard to coordinate vacation schedules (my mom is a teacher and my dad is a reporter at a radio station).

Once my vacation days were approved, Mom and I decided just to book a trip - so on Wednesday I met her at school for lunch and we booked our flights and hotel/tickets/DDP. We fly out of Providence at the crack of dawn (uhhh...6:45... that's early) on Jan. 14, and will check into Pop for almost 5 full days! Let's just say I'm on vacation and I'm going to make the most out of it and will possibly visit friends in NYC my last few days off.

If my dad decides he wants to come with us, we can add him on, but he may decide to visit his family near Fort Lauderdale - or he may decide to keep working and stay home with our cat.