XYRON machine?

flyerfan22

Earning My Ears
I'm new to scrapbooking, and I keep seeing people mention a Xyron machine - what exactly is it and what is it used for?
I've seen it in stores too, for $150!! From reading the box, it sounds like it makes stickers out of die cuts, or laminates things. Is there anything else to it?

Does anyone use it to scrapbook? How? Does it make brochures and newspaper clippings safe to put in your scrapbook?

Any suggestions/ideas would be appreciated.

I justed started scrapbooking last year and the Xyron 850 is one of my favorite tools. It can make anything into a sticker. You can also buy refill cartridges for laminating, as well as magnets. It is acid-free, which is what you need to use in your scrapbook. Michael's sells them, usually around $150. I got mine on sale for $97 with two cartridges. If you have Michael's by you, you can use the 40% coupon that comes in their circular. One cartridge lasts a long time. Like I said, it is a great little machine, I love it.

They also have smaller sizes, if you don't think you would need 8 1/2 by 11. I love playing with mine. I actually use the magnet more than the sticker for my daughter!;)

I've heard they work great as a vellum adhesive. Is that true? Anyone know? I love the look of vellum, but it is sure hard to work with.

MerryPoppins:

The Xyron is the BEST vellum adhesive, IMHO. :)

I have the Xyron 850 and the Xyron 500, and they are awesome! The adhesive is absolutely invisible on vellum, and I've been using it like crazy. I also love the Xyron to back small punch pieces, die cuts, etc.

HTH!

I have the Xyron 500. It is small and it only makes things into stickers- it does not do magnets or lamination. I bought it on sale at Michael's for $19.95 when they had it 50% off.