• Controversial Topics
    Several months ago, I added a private sub-forum to allow members to discuss these topics without fear of infractions or banning. It's opt-in, opt-out. Corey Click Here

Your Family's Christmas Traditions

*NikkiBell*

Livin’ that DVC & AP life!
Bouncing off of the conversation at the end of this week's news show, I thought it'd be fun to share our Christmas traditions in this thread.

For my family, we have the Italian Seven Fish Dinner on Christmas Eve and then each get Christmas PJs as a gift. On Christmas, we have a huge all day present and dinner bash with everyone. We also tend to watch A Christmas Story on TBS being that it is on for a full 24 hours. :rotfl2:

What a lovely idea!

Growing up, we'd go to the late service and get back home at about midnight, and open all the presents under the tree. In the morning, we'd open our stockings and find one special present from Santa.

Now that I have my own family, things are different. I'm a professional classical singer so I have to sing midnight mass with my church choir. In previous years I would sing with a Christmas caroling company all day on December 24th. I took the season off this year so that I can spend the day with my family. I'll have Christmas Eve dinner with my husband, daughter and sister-in-law. Then I'll head to church and sing all night.

I'll get home around 2:00am and I will try to remember where I hid the baby Jesus figurine from our manger scene, and I'll put him in place. On Christmas morning my family will let me sleep until about 9:00am. My husband will make gingerbread pancakes and then I'll get up, mumbling about how tired I am while someone shoves a cup of coffee in my hand. Then we'll open all the presents, occasionally using Skype so our out-of-town relatives can watch my daughter open her presents.