Your recommendations for a Video Camera?

crusin'minnie

Mouseketeer
I'm really wanting to replace my big bulky Camcorder and get a smaller model. I am just beginning to research this and thought I would ask you guys for opinions.

Thanks!!

We replaced our old camcorder two months ago with the Canon Mini Digital Z40. It's the size of your palm, and is only 1LB. I had looked at a lot of camcorders and picked the Z40 from Canon. It has all the features I was looking for and I wanted it to be digital.
I'm partial to Canon because of the quality of their lens and that they have the number one optics system. But.... that's just me.
If you go with either the mini DV or Hi-8, I'm sure it will be a big improvement over that big ( news type ) camcorder. Whatever you pick I would recommend buying software ie; like ArcSoft ShowBiz to do your editing of your movies.

I just bought a sony mini dv (can't remember the model.
I't a great camera to replace my broken 8mm. I think it is consider
a "palmcorder".

Just be aware when buying a smaller camcorder, get a good feel of how comfortable you will be holding it By that I mean take the time to adjust the strap and fit it properly around your hand.
I find that for me, I have to slide out the small veiw finder (regarless if im using it or the LCD screen) so that my 3 middle fingers can actually have a ledge to hold on to.

Have fun shopping

Question for madthemouse about the Canon Mini Digital Z40 camcorder.
We were looking at this but chickened out because I read on acouple sites that the motor noise could be heard on your movies. Have you noticed any problem with this?
It looks like a great compact camera for the price.