A question for teachers re: seating charts

Ashlotte

DIS Veteran
I have a question for the elementary teachers out there. I should add a disclaimer here that I am a certified teacher, but have been a SAHM for 7 years, so I would like to hear from people still in the profession.

My question is about seating charts. When I was teaching, the advice given by my mentor teacher was to break kids up by ability and behavior, to make the class balanced. The theory was that two behavior issues next to each other would be a problem, but one behavior problem with a more well-behaved kid would make the behavior issue kid mellow out a bit, thus creating an "average."

Well, now that I am not the teacher trying to split up the kids, but the parent of a high achiever/well-behaved kid, I have a problem with it. At the beginning of the year, the assignments were random, since the teacher didn't know the kids, and my son was in a good situation. The second assignment had him next to a very distracting girl for over a month. I didn't say anything, assuming that the next assignment would be better. Then the next assignment came, and was worse than the previous one.

I just FINALLY said something to the teacher yesterday, and I only said something because she had me correcting their seat work packets for December and it was obvious that he is getting distracted and not getting his work done (he had done two pages out of 19, and the previous month was a similar score. In September and October, he had done almost the whole packet). He also had homework come home over winter break because he hadn't finished in class.

So, my question for the teachers is, do you have a better way? It bothers me that the well-behaved kids are sort of "sacrificed" for the classroom in this way. It bothered me when I was teaching, too, but it was obviously less personal.