Badges we all need...

minkydog

DIS Cast Member
Wouldn't it be great to have a shiny metal badge in a black leather wallet, like the police?

Now imagine this--you're in the mall and your child has a giant meltdown and other moms are looking at you with that "DO SOMETHING" glare. You quickly whip out your badge and say, "Stand back! I'm a trained Special Needs Mom and I have the situation under control."

Or you're at a play date and your child has done something totally inappropriate, but very special needs. You can feel the other moms staring at you and thinking your child needs a good swat on the behind. You grab your trusty badge and say, "Luckily, I know how to handle a special child and I can redirect him!"

Or this--You are sitting at the kitchen table,watching your child's eyes glaze over as he blankly stares at material he has mastered before. You gently lay your badge on the table and softly say, "It's okay. I love you and I am a pro at this. I know you & this material better than anyone, and we will get through this together."

I think this would be a great item and lots of moms would want one. we could have home parties, like Tupperware, to sell badges. Of course,we would have to play those sily games at the party. But ours would be Name That Tantrum, Pick Your Obsession, Worst Extended-Family Reaction, The Most Uniformed Professinal You Have Paid Money To See, and Headache of the Week.

Believe me, there are days when I could use a badge...

--Excerpted from the Special Needs BB at <www.kaleidoscapes.com>

Cathy--mom to John,18 (bipolar, with learning disabilities, college-bound this fall) Eleni, 12 (perfectly normal 7th grade cutie, with a penchant for gerbils and oboe music), and Christian,10 (autism, MR, visual & hearing impairment, seizures and all around amazing kid!)

That's a great idea. Thanks for making me smile today. :flower: