Can you share your experience?

Disneywedding2010

DIS Veteran
Can you share your experience with me on going through airport security with a wheelchair?

I've never done this before and will be doing it for our Christmas trip. Is it an easy process? I'm kind of anxious because I don't know what to expect (yes I know I'm a dork).

Thanks!

You are not a dork at all!

Is it a power wheelchair? Or a manual wheelchair?

Manual wheelchair is not a really big deal. We usually try to get to the airport earlier than I would if we were all walking...just to allow for extra time with security.

Go through the handicapped security line and they will scan you separately based on how much mobility you have and what sort of equipment you have. They may test any liquid medications you need or even xray a cast, etc. They also use swabs that test for bomb making materials.

We carry Lauren's card stating she has a baclofen pump and metal rods in her back in case they trigger something on a scan.

If you are traveling with a power chair, then there are definitely more hints.

No matter what, you can "gate check" your wheelchair and have them return it to you at the gate when your plane lands.

You are not a dork at all!

Is it a power wheelchair? Or a manual wheelchair?

Manual wheelchair is not a really big deal. We usually try to get to the airport earlier than I would if we were all walking...just to allow for extra time with security.

Go through the handicapped security line and they will scan you separately based on how much mobility you have and what sort of equipment you have. They may test any liquid medications you need or even xray a cast, etc. They also use swabs that test for bomb making materials.

We carry Lauren's card stating she has a baclofen pump and metal rods in her back in case they trigger something on a scan.

If you are traveling with a power chair, then there are definitely more hints.