Cancellation Policy

Sammie

DIS Veteran
We have never had to cancel a DVC reservation however we are considering a trip that might have to be cancelled due to family medical problems.

I understand the policy if you cancel 31 days out, however what happens if you cancel within 30 days prior to arrival.

Not sure I understand the holding account. And can you put borrowed points in holding?

I'm no expert - but since you haven't gotten a reply yet - I'll give it a go -
The borrowed points stay in the current use year once you borrow them - so if your use year is , say, March - like mine - the borrowed points would now expire this March - holding account or not. If you cancel in the 30 day window - your points would be put into the holding account - not neccesarily the end of the world, though. They can still be used to make the same reservation you normally could - you just can't make a ressie more that 60 days out. So you'll have to plan it a bit more short notice, and before the points will expire. I would call MS tomorrow and tell them all the details and see what else is available as far as new reservations (within the 60 day timeframe) if you think you may be able to go again that soon. Then you won't have to worry about not using the points. It really depends on when the points will expire as to how quickly you'll have to act on them. Hope everything works out -

All points used to make the reservation will go into the Holding Account when a cancellation occurs within 30 days of arrival. As explained, those points may only be used to make a reservation within 60 days of arrival. If unused they will expire at the end of the current Use Year - regardless whether they were banked, borrowed or current. They cannot be banked.

Thanks to both you, I understand now.

Second question, has anyone put points in holding and actually been able to book something within the 60 days or less requirement. Or does this basically mean you will lose those points.