I'm inspired. Now advise me on surprising my kids.

Glynis

<font color=indigo>Taking applications for a WDW t
After reading several trip reports about parents surprising their children with trips to Disney, I'm inspired to try to do the same thing for mine. So, I have some questions: What is the best time of year to try something like this for either WDW or DL? How far in advance do I need to start arranging it? Any advice would be great!

Thanks.

I have no personal experiences to share, but wanted to say good luck.

Also, check the Families Board as there was one whole thread on ideas of what people have done to surprise their kids.

I'm not sure I understand the first part of your question. When is a good time to GO, or when is a good time to "unveil" the surprise, so to speak?

If you mean when to surprise them, I really don't think it matters. If my parents had woken me up on say July 11 and said "Get up! We're going to Disney World!", it would have felt like second birthday, or like Christmas had come 5 months early! :)

As for how far in advance to start planning, treat it like you would ANY other Disney trip. I generally find that it's easiest to book the hotel first and work from there. I book as soon as I can to make sure I get the room I want.

Lots of luck to you!

When to go, well NOW is not soon enough for me...LOL. Seriously now, I hear May is good, try and avoid peak times, school vacations, Christmas, Most of the summer. I hear a good quiet week to go is the last week of August or first week of Sept.