Just got back -- good and bad

dsimms71

Earning My Ears
Mutli-time WDW and WDL fan, just got back from our mid Nov 2014 WDW trip. It sadly will be a long time before we go back.

I know there is always good and bad in most things, and while the overall takeaway for us this time was negative, we did have some positive fun moments. I will break it out good and bad.

Good:

1- My Disney Experience smartphone app:
I work in the technology field, and probably have more of a detailed opinion than others, but will stay with the summary. I felt the app was extremely helpful, fast, responsive, effective, and think Disney hit a home run with this app. I had other 'WDW' apps by third parties on my phone, but found myself using the Disney app more, and towards middle of trip, exclusively used the Disney app. I changed my FP+ on the fly, received emails about a ride going down, changed FP+immediately, found nearby quick serve restaurants via the map feature, and even changed my table service meal twice using the app. I couldn't be happier with the app, and feel this is a game changer for amusement parks.

2- Magic bands:
We found the bands very helpful, love they could be used to get into the room. We probably came in and out of our room 100 times over the week, and loved the fact any of us in my family could just simply scan arm to get into room. For someone that travels often, and knowing you usually have two cards (wife has one , and I have one). You always have to give kids one if they go ahead of you, always looking for the card, and sometimes have have lost cards. This alone was a HUGE upgrade on the vacation experience. We also LOVED they could be used for payments in quick service lines...HUGE upgrade. We felt it made the food lines faster as well, not waiting for people to pay with different cards from wallet/purse. This was VERY helpful in shops, and think again Disney hit a home run.

3- Disney over the phone customer service