Late September Crowds pre HHN

Aussie RJ

Mouseketeer
Universal Studios newbie here. We are DVC members who are considering dipping our toes in the water at US. My kids are 8 & 6 who will both ride anything at WDW. Our upcoming trip during September/October presents us with a chance to try US and IOA. We have one day spare outside of designated “pool” days. However the spare day is a Friday with a HHN.
What are your thoughts on visiting US on a HHN at opening and moving to IOA around 3pm. I realize it will be as hot as hades and I am thinking it may be a waste of money but a new scene and the HP wands are becoming desirable in my household. Our next trip will be dec 2020 so perhaps the cooler temps will be a better idea for a first time visit. Your advice and experiences are appreciated.

Your plan will work
Leave the studios by 3 and switch parks

The studios closes at 5 to the public as it is a hhn night

Hope you have a great time at the darkside!

should be no problem at all. we routinely go that time of year and skip HHN altogether. it starts to get crowded mid afternoon..say after 3 pm. so bailing at that point is smart. make sure you get the park to park ticket. and take the Hogwarts express. I won't say the crowds are lighter earlier, but the locals won't start showing up until later.

we only stay at hotels that offer express pass so honestly have never done it without so really cannot offer any advice as to how crowded/busy the lines are for the biggest rides( obviously the Hagrid coaster will probably still be stupid long waits.. perhaps not the 8-10 hours it seems to be now, but I bet 3-4 would not be far off the mark.)

Yes earlier in the hhn season has lighter crowds until late afternoon

I notice weekends are crowded when Columbus Day comes along by noontime

Last week of the event is lighter and no packed parks in early afternoon