Mini Pandemic Trip Report to Oahu including Aulani

nono

DIS Veteran
These aren't my thing, so bear with me. We (two 50-something parents, a 16 yr old and 14 yr old) had plans for Hokkaido Snow Festival. Then skiing in Hakuba. Then golfing in Florida. So how did we end up in Hawaii? Well we live in NJ. And in early December, we still had a "safe states to visit" program. About 12 minutes after I changed all flights and moved DVC and Hilton reservations around to go to Oahu, the Gov. (Yes, I'm looking at you Murph!) decided if only one state remained, why bother. I wavered. In the end, if we didn't travel last week of Jan/first week of Feb, it would be another year before we could travel.

So we stayed firm. We endured having non-stops from Newark disappear. So now we were connecting coming and going. I got a Masters degree equivalent in Hawaii's Safe Travel Program. :rolleyes1 And after we tested on Jan. 20 at Walgreens, we pulled out the luggage and dumped our summer clothes* and raincoats into the bags and waited. My husband tested at lunchtime and received his results around 3-3:30 pm, while the kids and I were at the same location testing. We were supposed to test at XPresCheck in Newark airport on Thursday afternoon and to stay up there for our Friday morning flight, but Walgreens just opened another IDNow testing location fairly close to us (40 min away), and we chose that route. Before we knew it, we were really going.