MVMCP - Tips, Tricks, Secrets newbies should know...

Sweety_tweety

Mouseketeer
List your best tip, trick, or secret you think people would like to know about MVMCP.

I thought the MNSSHP thread was a great idea, so I thought I would start one for MVMCP. I am a newbie so I really don't have anything to add, but I am looking forward to all the tips! :santa:

I'll start:
• Plan to arrive very early for Mickey's 'Twas the Night Before Christmas show or you won't get a seat. We were in line at least 30 minutes early and almost did not get a seat.
• If you can do the late parade it will be a lot less crowded than the early parade.
• Lines for rides will be short during the parades.
• Even if the daytime temps are warm the evenings can be pretty cool. You may want to check a weather website before you leave home to better plan what clothes to pack. I have been VERY happy to have a winter jacket, hat and mittens some years (and I am used to Minnesota cold!) A blanket is great for sitting on cold curbs or covering up.
• Get there by 4:00 PM to have the maximum amount of time. If you are using tickets rather than an AP, the day of MVMCP may be a day you can do things that don't require a park ticket, like visiting resorts to see decorations or going to DTD.
• It is fun to wear a special hat or sweatshirt or other Disney Christmas apparel/jewelry.
• I think it is wise to eat a late lunch/early dinner so you don't waste time during the party. If you want to sit and eat you REALLY need an ADR.
• Don't miss the marching tin soldiers in the parade. IMHO they are worth the price of admission.

Great tips from PP! I'll echo planning for cooler temps. We went 12/7/08 and it was in the 30s!

I'll add on...

- Plan your day to stay to be able to stay to the end of the party. Things really empty out in that last hour or so and you can do a lot of rides/attractions with very minimal waits.